An integral part of the graduation ceremony is the recognition of academic excellence and achievement. Among the many honours awarded, there are some awards that are carry special significance as symbols of the highest degree of excellence.

Governor General Award winner

Governor General’s Academic Medals (Students)

For more than 125 years, the Academic Medals have recognized the outstanding scholastic achievements of students in Canada. They are awarded to the student graduating with the highest average from high school, as well as from approved college or university programs. They have become the most prestigious award students in Canadian schools can receive.

Today, the Governor General’s Academic Medals are awarded at four distinct levels: Bronze at the secondary school level; Collegiate Bronze at the post-secondary, diploma level; Silver at the undergraduate level, and Gold at the graduate level.

Medals are presented on behalf of the Governor General by participating educational institutions, along with a personalized certificate signed by the Governor General. Students do not receive any monetary award.

For more information including past recipients, please visit

Lieutenant Governor’s Medal for Inclusion, Democracy and Reconciliation (Students)             

The Lieutenant Governor Medal Program for Inclusion, Democracy and Reconciliation recognizes students who have distinguished themselves through their post-secondary education with outstanding contributions to the promotion of inclusion, democracy or reconciliation.

For more information, please visit

President’s Service Award for Excellence (Staff)

UBC presents the President’s Service Awards for Excellence and other staff awards annually, to recognize staff members who demonstrate outstanding achievement and excellence within the UBC Community.

The President’s Service Award for Excellence (PSAE) was first created in 1991 and has been awarded to 102 employees for their outstanding contributions to the University.  The recipients are presented with a medal and cheque at one of the graduation ceremonies.

For more information, please visit, including nomination information, past winners, and more.

Teaching Excellence and Innovation Awards (Faculty)

This award acknowledges teaching excellence and innovation at UBC’s Okanagan campus. The successful award winners are exemplary role models who have and will continue to have a significant impact on the culture of teaching and learning on the Okanagan campus, and beyond.

For more information, please visit

Killam Teaching Prize (Faculty)

The Killam Scholarship and Prize Programmes were established in 1965 through the generous benefaction of Izaak Walton Killam and Dorothy J. Killam, with the aim to support advanced education and research at five Canadian universities and the Canada Council for the Arts. UBC is one of six Killam institutions that offers the annual Killam Teaching Prize to faculty in recognition of excellence in teaching. There is one Killam Teaching Prize awarded to a UBC Okanagan faculty member.

For more information, please visit