2016 Honorary Degree Recipients

UBC to confer two honorary degrees at Okanagan graduation

Pioneering astronaut Dr. Roberta Bondar and water scientist David Schindler will be recognized with UBC Centennial honorary degrees during UBC Okanagan’s graduation ceremonies June 9 and 10.

  • Dr. Roberta Bondar, a physician and scientist, made history in 1992 as the first Canadian female astronaut and the first neurologist in space, aboard NASA’s space shuttle Discovery. She researched the effects on astronauts of spaceflight and re-adaptation to Earth’s gravity and made ground-breaking discoveries in space medicine. Bondar will receive an honorary Doctor of Science degree.
  • David Schindler is an internationally celebrated scientist who has led efforts to protect freshwater resources in Canada and around the world. His ground-breaking research has alerted governments and the public to the environmental effects of pollutants and climate change. Schindler will receive an honorary Doctor of Science degree.

UBC’s Vancouver graduation ceremonies from May 25 to June 1 will see 13 luminaries recognized with honorary UBC degrees:

• Four-time gold medal Olympic hockey player Hayley Wickenheiser
• Grammy-winning violin virtuoso James Ehnes
• Business leader and philanthropist Brandt Louie
• Internationally respected Vij’s restaurateurs Vikram Vij and Meera Dhalwala
• Beloved Le Chandail (The Hockey Sweater) author Roch Carrier
• Nobel-prize-winning physicist Arthur McDonald
• Respected journalist, author and commentator Chantal Hébert
• Corporate governance leader Stephen Jarislowsky
• Business leader and arts supporter Michael Koerner
• Eminent plant scientist Sanjaya Rajaram
• Inuit and Aboriginal champion Mary Simon
• Visionary medical scientist Dr. Calvin Stiller

UBC awards honorary degrees in recognition of substantial contributions to society at the provincial, national or international level.

*This information was originally released on February 15, 2016 and can be found on UBC’s Okanagan News website.